Middletown stars shine at 35th annual Roundball Senior All-Star Classic


Photo by Molly Spillman

Senior Tim Schumacher dribbles down the court on a fast break

By Jess Racz, Round Table Reporter

The 35th annual Round ball Senior All-Star Classic was held on March 28 at Thomas Johnson High School. Several senior student-athletes proudly wore their school uniforms one last time to compete in the city-county all-star game.

The City team consisted of players from: Frederick High School, Tuscarora High School, Governor Thomas Johnson High School and New Life Christian School.

The County team consisted of seniors from: Middletown High School, Oakdale High School, Brunswick High School, Catoctin High School, Walkersville High School, Urbana High School and Linganore High School.

For the county girl’s all-star team, the roster included Tyra Hughes, Sydney Bolyard, Lana Long, Sarah Coleman and Chaslyn Derexson representing Walkersville High School.

Megan Harne and Jess Racz wore Middletown High School jersey’s proudly.

Meredith Holley and Bailey Breese came from Urbana High School. Kelli Griffith and Alex Bullard were from Linganore High School.

For the city girl’s all-star team, the roster included Katie Wareham, Katie Broadhurst, Emily Gargulio and Tronique Black of Governor Thomas Johnson.

From Frederick High school were, Cierra Hensley, Kiyanna Chaney, Tina Negoescu, Akeria Grant, and Meghan Weeks.

Katherine Moore, Lyric Forney and Taylor Johnson came from Tuscarora, and Liz Catoe of New Life Christian.

Middletown’s own Jess Racz won both the three-point shootout and free throw competition. Frederick’s Tina Negoescu was the leading scorer and was awarded Most Valuable Player for the girl’s City-County all-star game on March 28.

The roster for the county boy’s all-star team included Ben Panther, Bradley Rinehart and Tim Schumacher of Middletown.

From Urbana: Kyle Singer, Conner Wrightson, Devin Tiffany and Patrick Coffey.

Chase Martin and Zach Hommey came from Walkersville.

Clay Conner, Johnny Hoyle, Austin Gouldin, Julius Simpson and Brain James represented the 2A west champion, Oakdale Bears.

Kyle Nicolet and Ryan Schmidt represented Linganore. Jacob Tokar came from Catoctin, while Zach Hossler represented Brunswick.

The roster for the city boy’s all-star team included Temoi Roper, Nyzeir Sampson, KJ Daniels, Josh McClain, Isiah Lee and D’Vaughan Cosley of Governor Thomas Johnson.

Christian James, Jonathan King, Patrick Davis and Minase Shiferaw came from Frederick.

Representing Tuscarora was: Bryan Ingram, Christian Magee, Anthony Naylor, Mykel Barber, Brison Hopper and Abb Kapoor. Jerimiah Chambers and Cory Stopyra came from New Life Christian.

Oakdale’s Clay Conner won the three-point shootout and Frederick’s Jonathon King barely beat Panther in the slam dunk competition.

Frederick’s Christian James was awarded Most Valuable Player for the boy’s City-County all-star game.

Both city teams won their all-star games with ease: City boy’s defeated the County boy’s 86-76 and City girl’s defeated the County girl’s 77-61.